top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLexie LaPlante

A Look Into My Sketchbook

Whenever I get inspriation to make a new dress, the first thing I do is pick up my sketchbook and design it. I find it helpful to plan out my designs and have the sketch to look back to while I'm sewing. Let me know in the comment section which sketch was your favorite!

In my sketchbook you'll find notes, drawings, swatches of fabric and an inside look into my brain. I picked out some of my favorite sketches from over the years and and the product for you to look at :)

You might've seen this dress before, this dress was created in the 60s and it's iconic in fashion today. I wanted to recreate this dress but put my own spin on it.

In most of my designs I tend to stay true to the orgional sketch, however in the process of making this dress I realized that I liked it better strapless

This was a design that I made and ranked superior for at the International Thespian Society (ITS) compettion. It was my take on Wendy's nightgown from Peter Pan and if it wasn't for quarantine I would be attending nationals in Indianna this June :(

This was from a collection that I did a little while back, the dresses were based off of some of my favorite broadway shows. Can you guess this one?

This is my next big project. Quarantine has really given me the time to focus on my art and create. I'm designing a mini collection that mainly consists of the happiest color I know of, yellow :)

It puts a smile on my face when I read your lovely comments so please let me know which skecth was your favorite and/or what design you're most excited about from the sketch above^^

Stay happy and healthy <3


77 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page